Monday, September 25, 2006

If no Gluten...then how is it beer?

Technically Gluten-Free beers contain a form of Gluten...just not from the traditional grains of Wheat, Barley, Rye or Oats. Other grains off limits include triticale (hybrid of wheat and rye), spelt (sprouted wheat), and kamut.

Many I have discussed this topic with say, "If it doesn't have Gluten it can't be beer."

The truly traditional would tell you that if it doesn't contain Barley it can't be beer.

But in many countries in the world they ferment local grains to make alchoholic beverages, for example, in Africa they have Sorghum. In fact, even Guiness brewed in Africa uses some Sorghum grain in the process.

Other potential grains include; Amaranth, Buckwheat, Corn, Flax, Millet, Montina (Indian Rice Grass), Teff, Sesame, Soybean, Sunflower, Tapioca, Ragi, Rape, Rice, Quinoa...

Many possibilities exist, and various combinations of these grains might produce a very tasty Ale!

Of course adjuncts offer many more flavor possibilities, consider adding toasted oak chips, roasted grains, honey or fruit.

Give it a shot and send us a recipe or two for adding to the recipe section!

No comments: